REVIEW: Amy & Matthew by Cammie McGovern

You know a novel is truly flawless when you feel as if it’s natural; the words flow into one and you are witnessing the events through the characters’ eyes without fault. That’s how I felt when reading Amy & Matthew.

One of the easiest ways to describe Amy & Matthew is to quote from the text itself: ‘there were many ways to be a freak. Amy had no choice, but other people did. If you worked hard and concentrated, you could hide your freakish thoughts.’ Amy has cerebral palsy, which limits her communication and movement. It’s her senior year and she decides she’s going to replace the aides who usually help her with students. Step in five peer helpers. Matthew has noticed Amy since they were young and so offers to help. The thing is, Matthew has his own problems to battle. For fans of Eleanor & Park and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Amy & Matthew will blow you away.

I think I fell in love with this novel from the first page. It was understanding and meaningful and it had me completely hooked. I can tell this book will touch a lot of people once released, just as it touched me. I was wary before I started reading it, I must admit. Books dealing with such subjects are becoming ever popular (and for good reason) but there is a certain atmosphere surrounding them that isn’t needed. As it’s only a recently emerging trend, it can always be worrying beforehand; you never really know what to expect. I didn’t need to be worried though, because I loved Amy & Matthew.

The thing I loved most about this book was it wasn’t your typical romance book. From the title you would expect it, but it’s really not. To call it a romance novel would be a dishonour because it’s so much more than that. It’s the blooming friendship between two people as they discover themselves at the same time and explore the changes of the world around them; it’s the differences between the two and how they bridge the gap. In two words: truly stunning.

I don’t want to talk too much about both Amy and Matthew because I think the brilliant thing about this book is discovering their personalities and hidden depths for yourself. I thought I knew who they both were but then things would happen and I had to reassess. It was such a refreshing way to read because you don’t often get that.

Simply, you should go out and buy Amy & Matthew straight away. It challenges preconceived notions and will blow you away.

five-stars

Lucy Powrie

Lucy Powrie is a blogger, YouTuber and author from the UK. When she's not reading, she enjoys cuddling guinea pigs and eating Oreo chocolate, but let's be real: she's mostly always reading.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

  1. Reply

    Francoise

    17 March, 2014

    The one thing I love about contemporary now is that they are doing deep and meaningful subjects like this! It’s important for teenagers to explore these topics because everyone’s going to come across something like this at least once in their life. Now I want to read this book because you’ve given it so much praise! Great review!
    Francoise recently posted…Stacking the Shelves 16/03/14My Profile

  2. Reply

    Sandra

    17 March, 2014

    Aw this cover is so pretty! The book sounds adorable, I might pick it up. I haven’t heard of the book before I read this review, but I will definitely add this one to my TBR list.
    Sandra recently posted…The Book Thief – Markus ZusakMy Profile

  3. Reply

    Ruby

    17 March, 2014

    I’ve never been much of a YA contemporary person (spare a couple of favourites) as I tend to drift more towards fantasy and historical fiction… yet you’ve convinced me here.

    I agree with you that sometimes it’s best to go into a book not knowing much about the characters – in that way you can form your own opinions etc.

    Anyway, brilliant review Lucy and I’ll *hopefully* pick this one up soon!
    Ruby recently posted…The Troop and Fire & FloodMy Profile

  4. Reply

    Georgia Walters (The Bibliomaniac Book Blog)

    17 March, 2014

    I’ve seen this around a lot in book hauls in the blogosphere… but though the cover is gorgeous, I didn’t think it would be a book for me, but then again I hadn’t read any info about it! However, this review has totally persuaded me- Amy and Matthew sounds so unique and heart-warming. I’ll definitely look out for this when it’s out later in the month- thanks for the review! 🙂
    -Gee x
    Georgia Walters (The Bibliomaniac Book Blog) recently posted…Book Review: The Madness by Alison RattleMy Profile

  5. Reply

    caroline

    17 March, 2014

    I am desperate to read this as I have been on a bit of a contemporary kick lately, think its because there has been loads of great ones lately and this sounds like another.

  6. Reply

    Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea

    17 March, 2014

    I have been so eager to pick up a copy of Amy & Matthew, so I’m really happy to see that you loved it! Reading your review has just made me all the more excited to read this one.
    Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea recently posted…Book Review: Fifty First Times by Various AuthorsMy Profile

  7. Reply

    Eileen @ Singing and Reading in the Rain

    18 March, 2014

    Wow this one sounds like a really big mix between quirky and emotional, which definitely sounds fun. I love when a book can touch you really deeply because it’s just the best feeling, especially when it feels like you’re learning more and more about the character as they learn more about themselves. Fantastic review, Lucy! <33
    Eileen @ Singing and Reading in the Rain recently posted…My Life After Now by Jessica VerdiMy Profile

  8. Reply

    Jaden Boatnge (Booklol16)

    22 March, 2014

    love cover this loooks a good book loves to read rommmace read sooon (if have time).i love your blog tooo.
    Jaden Boatnge (Booklol16) recently posted…HOW TO get a blockquteMy Profile

  9. Reply

    Erika @ The Red Bookmark

    7 April, 2014

    Look at that cover!! *drools* I’m so happy you enjoyed Amy & Matthew, Lucy! I’ve been seeing this around quite recently and I NEED to read it now, or I’ll hyperventilate or die 😉
    Erika @ The Red Bookmark recently posted…My Book Wishlist: April EditionMy Profile

  10. Reply

    captain america winter soldier movie poster

    5 November, 2014

    Quality articles or reviews is the crucial to invite the users to pay a
    visit the web page, that’s what this site
    is providing.
    captain america winter soldier movie poster recently posted…captain america winter soldier movie posterMy Profile

  11. Reply

    Skinny Protocol Program review

    14 January, 2015

    I was able to find good info from your blog articles.|

  12. Reply

    Marta Mouro

    15 March, 2015

    I was thinking about buying this book but once I read your review I was sure I needed to buy it 🙂 Thnk you
    Check my blog
    http://mourissima.blogspot.pt
    Marta Mouro recently posted…1001 Lugares – LyonMy Profile

LEAVE A COMMENT

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.