REVIEW: Sealed With a Kiss by Rachael Lucas

11 May, 2014

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

REVIEW: Sealed With a Kiss by Rachael LucasSealed With a Kiss by Rachael Lucas
Published by Pan Macmillan on 8th May 2014
Genres: adult, contemporary
Pages: 204
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on AmazonBuy on Hive
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Kate is dumped on her best friend's wedding day by the world's most boring boyfriend, Ian. She's mostly cross because he got in first - until she remembers she's now homeless as well as jobless. Rather than move back home to her ultra-bossy mother, Kate takes a job on the remote Scottish island of Auchenmor as an all-round Girl Friday. Her first day is pretty much a disaster: she falls over, smack bang at the feet of her grouchy new boss, Roddy, Laird of the Island. Unimpressed with her townie ways, he makes it clear she's got a lot to prove.

Island life has no room for secrets, but prickly Roddy's keeping something to himself. When his demanding ex girlfriend appears back on the island, Kate's budding friendship with her new boss comes to an abrupt end. What is Fiona planning - and can she be stopped before it's too late?

This funny, big-hearted novel is the perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

Sealed with a Kiss, so called because it is set on an island where there are many cute seals, is the perfect summer contemporary to take with you on holiday whilst you’re lying by the pool, or sunbathing in your garden (that’s if Britain ever sees sunshine!). Lucas is a name you definitely need to watch out for in adult contemporary.

Hooked from the first page, the novel tells the story of Kate who has just separated from her long-term boyfriend and is looking for a job. When she sees a job for a Girl Friday on a remote island called Auchenmor in Scotland, she doesn’t realise just what she’s taken on. Kate then has to deal with the fact that on such a small island there are no secrets, scheming ex-girlfriends and an injured seal. What more could you wish for in a book?!

As you know, I primarily read YA, so Sealed with a Kiss was a really nice change because it’s an adult novel. I think there’s a lot of YA crossover potential and I’d have no trouble handing it to a YA. It’s by far one of the best adult contemporaries I’ve read, up there with the likes of Katie Fforde.

The main character, Kate, charmed me right from the start. She’s clumsy, falling at her boss’ feet the first time she meets him, but she’s also devoted and caring. Kate is the kind of person you’d love to be friends with.

There were also such brilliant secondary characters that all had their own pasts that added a familiarity to the story, like Susan and Jean.

Sealed with a Kiss is definitely a book that will stay with you long after you put it down. I’m looking forward to re-reading it again sometime in the near future!

 

Book in a Tweet: Cute, romantic, and a must-read for any contemporary fan! You won’t want to miss out on this book!

four-half-stars

5 Comments

  • Chrissi Reads

    11 May, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    This does sound really cute Lucy! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love the book in a tweet section.
    Chrissi Reads recently posted…ChainsMy Profile

    1. Lucy Powrie

      12 May, 2014 at 7:26 pm

      Thank you, Chrissi! The ‘book in a tweet’ is something I’ve wanted to introduce for a while now so I’m glad to see you liked the inclusion!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  • Sandra @ Sandra’s World of Books

    12 May, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    This book looks adorable. Especially the cover. I love the cover a lot! (I’d totally buy it just because of the prettiness of the cover) But I”m glad to read that it’s also worth a read! Thanks for the review!
    Sandra @ Sandra’s World of Books recently posted…Book Translations #4My Profile

    1. Lucy Powrie

      12 May, 2014 at 7:26 pm

      It is adorable! Even though I read it on my Kindle, I’m thinking of buying a copy so I can just stare at it all day!

      I hope, if you read it, you enjoy it!

  • REVIEW: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas – Queen of Contemporary

    19 June, 2017 at 7:31 am

    […] been a very big fan of Rachael Lucas’s books ever since I read Sealed With A Kiss and fell in love with it. That meant I got super excited when I heard that Rachael was working on a […]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

Prev Post Next Post